Red robots and shiny blog things.

I’ve been decorating. If you’ve looked along the top, you may have noticed a new link. ‘What say you?‘ is my shiny new feedback form, for your blogging pleasure.

Last time I finally started to write fiction for this blog. I intend for this to be a practice space of sorts, where my imagination can take joy in writing short bits and pieces without taking things too seriously. Feeling Lucky, for instance, is something I made up on the spot. Apart from a quick once-over to check for glaring errors, that is more or less my raw work. Expect more on that story soon! It won’t be too long, but I plan on finishing it before posting any more new material.

And in other news… A quintconsequential I felt I just had to share…

The dance of the little red robot

‘Twas the end of the lecture and all through the hall,
not a student was stirring… well, the occasional snore.
The students, hung up with their looming exams
didn’t notice when one guy slipped his hand in his bag…

But when from the table there arose such a clatter
we all turned in our seats to see what was the matter.
‘Lo and behold, what joy did we see?
A small red robot was there, as if magically!

It clattered and stumbled, its small plastic feet
whirring and buzzing up a staccato beat.
With a tiny remote he marched the toy past
students’ papers and notes amidst gales of laughs.

So when you are down or as bored as can be,
remember those moments you treasure lovingly.
For when all is shades of blue, grey, even black…
Be warned: a quintconsequential is braced to attack!

For your information, this post is an unusual event as I rarely write poetry. However, the idea for this one walked into my head fully-formed as the little toy robot stuttered across my friend’s laptop… It was very fun to write – poetry may even feature more regularly on this blog than I had once thought! For those of you itching for more about Felix, do not fear – he will be gracing your screens again in the very near future.

Leave a Reply

The Post Office:

Disclaimer:

'Quintconsequential' is a word of my own invention, despite the definition in the style of the Oxford English Dictionary featured on the site. By all means, use it, whisper it, shout it from the rooftops. But please, remember that you heard it here first!
